Today we have gone live with our manual time entry feature. We fully realize it’s been a long road, so thanks very much for your patience, and we believe the wait will be worth it.
What you can do with manual time entries:
- Timesheets tab
- Adding manual time entries
- Deleting manual time entries
- Settings that allow your organization to control who can add time and who cannot
How to add and delete time manually:
You can add and delete time manually by going to the “Timesheets” tab, clicking on manual time tab, and clicking on the “Add Time” button as seen below.
Next you need to add a timelog. After you click the “add time” button, a modal box will have appeared. This is where you will add your time entries.\
Note that Project, Start time, End time, and Note are all required fields. When done, simply click “save”.
You have now made your time entry, and you’ll see it displayed on the “my time” page. It will look like this.
You now have the opportunity to delete or edit that timelog by simply clicking on the “delete” or “edit” buttons respectively.
After you’ve added a timelog, it will immediately be reflected on the activities page.
And it will also appear on the reports page.
Editing Manual Time Entry Settings:
You can edit which team members can add, edit and delete time entries manually. To do this, you will simply click on the “Organizations” tab, then select your organization. Next click on the “Settings” tab, and then finally the “Manual time allowed” setting.
You can edit this setting by default at the org level, or you can edit it on the user level.
What’s to come for Timesheets?
- Rates – You’ll soon be able to set rates for each staff member
- Employee / Contractor Payments – You’ll be able to pay the members via Freshbook, Paypal, Quickbooks and more.
Manual Time FAQ
Q: Will adding manual time overwrite time logs that currently exist.
A: Yes. Manual time entries will overwrite any previous manual time or automatic time that was tracked. Hubstaff will warn you before the changes are saved. Once you overwrite a timelog is it NOT recoverable
Q: Can I add time for two projects during the same timespan?
A: No. Hubstaff will only allow you to work on one project during the same 10 minute interval.
Q: Will manual time added show on the activities page and the reports page?
A: Yes. Manual time logs will show up throughout the rest of Hubstaff, including on the reports page and the activities page.
Q: Can I add or delete manual time for others?
A: No. Only the person who has worked the hours can add or delete time. Managers and owners cannot add or delete time for others.
Q: How do I adjust which members of my team can add manual time and which members cannot?
A: There is a setting called “Modify Time Allowed” in the settings of your main organization. You can adjust these settings there.